Day 19

Day 19

I met up with Richard in a café today. I had nothing else to do, because I have no classes on Friday and we’re both banned from the faculty meetings until further notice, or as Dickhead (yeah, I’m still calling him that) said “Until they find a replacement for Kathryn, which could take them several million years, give or take.”

He explained that not only is she still a student, but she’s some sort of genius who graduated high-school at age 14 and has been in the college for the last three years. It took me about a millisecond to calculate that she’s still 17, i.e. a minor, and about 3 seconds to feel sick. Luckily for Rich, I didn’t puke on him this time, I managed to get to the café’s toilet first, which was unlucky only for the person who has to clean it afterwards.

Continuing his thoughts 3 minutes later, completely unfazed as if I hadn’t just run off to the men’s room, Richard said that Kathryn being a minor is probably what saved us from getting sacked. If I had “just made the tonsil dance with a student” then they could have simply fired us and that would be it. But since these things require an official investigation and documentation, the fact that she’s a minor means they also had to involve the police, her parents and ultimately the media would find a way to cover it, and all of that would bring in some very very bad publicity for the school.

“Luckily for us,” he said, “what you did wasn’t just immoral, it was a felony. High-five!”

“Richard is a weird person”, I thought… while high-fiving him.

Leave a comment